

Board of Directors Post Annual Members Meeting - Open Meeting Minutes

June 15, 2023 Via Teams Meeting

Members Ms. Fay Lim-Lambie, Mr. Joseph Amato, Ms. Azi Boloorchi, Mr. Dev Chopra, , Dr.

Jen Chyang Lai, Mr. Peter Hargitai, Dr. Steven Jackson, Ms. Joby McKenzie, Mr. Atul Mehta, Ms. Ruby Philip-Katyal, Mr. Moris Pilla, Dr. Nikila Ravindran, Ms. Deryn Rizzi, Mr. David Steinberg, Mr. Altaf Stationwala, Ms. Mary-Agnes Wilson,

Ms. Stephanie Zee

Executive Ms. Stav D'Andrea, Ms. Purvi Desai, Mr. David Stolte, Ms. Allison Trenholm, **Leadership** Ms. Terry Villella, Ms. Luci Anderson, Ms. Suneet Mann

Team/Staff

Regrets

Guests Ms. Nicole McCahon

Resources Ms. Cleo Surace

1.0 Land Acknowledgement, Call to Order and Approval of Agenda

Mr. Altaf Stationwala called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m. and confirmed quorum.

Mr. Stationwala provided the land acknowledgement as a demonstration of recognition and respect for Indigenous peoples of Canada.

Mackenzie Health is situated on treaty lands that have been lived on and cared for by generations of the Mississaugas of the Credit. It is the traditional territory of other First Nations including the Haudenosaunee and the Wendat. This land is currently home to many First Nations, Métis and Inuit people today. Mackenzie Health is grateful for the opportunity to deliver essential care to patients in this territory.

MOVED by Mr. Dev Chopra and **SECONDED** by Ms. Ruby Philip-Katyal that the agenda for the June 15, 2023 meeting be approved, as presented.

CARRIED

2.0 Declaration of Conflict of Interest

All those in attendance were reminded of their responsibilities with respect to Conflict of Interest and no conflicts were declared.

3.0 Approval of the Consent Agenda

MOVED by Ms. Joby McKenzie and **SECONDED** by Mr. David Steinberg that the consent agenda be approved, as presented.

4.0 Chair's Remarks

The Chair's Report was included in the pre-circulated material.

5.0 Committee Reports

5.1 Governance Committee Report

Officers of the Corporation

Ms. Fay Lim-Lambie recused herself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Ms. Stephanie Zee and **SECONDED** by Ms. Ruby Philip-Katyal:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors appoint Fay Lim-Lambie as Chair of the Board for 2023-2024.

CARRIED

Ms. Lambie resumed the role of Chair for the meeting.

Ms. Stephanie Zee recused herself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Mr. David Steinberg and **SECONDED** by Mr. Moris Pilla:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors appoint Stephanie Zee as Vice Chair of the Board for 2023-2024.

CARRIED

Ms. Joby McKenzie recused herself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Mr. Joseph Amato and **SECONDED** by Ms. Ruby Philip-Katyal:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors appoint Joby McKenzie as Second Vice Chair of the Board for 2023-2024.

CARRIED

Mr. Peter Hargitai recused himself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Mr. Dev Chopra and **SECONDED** by Ms. Stephanie Zee:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors appoint Peter Hargitai as Treasurer of the Board for 2023-2024.

CARRIED

 ${\it Mr. Altaf Stationwala\ recused\ himself\ from\ the\ meeting\ for\ this\ matter.}$

MOVED by Ms. Azi Boloorchi and SECONDED by Ms. Joby McKenzie:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors appoint Altaf Stationwala as Secretary of the Board for 2023-24.

CARRIED

5..1.2 Board Committee Leadership Appointments

MOVED by Mr. David Steinberg and SECONDED by Ms. Azi Boloorchi:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors approve the 2023-2024 Board Committee Leadership appointments, as presented.

Executive Committee Chair - Fay Lim-Lambie

Executive Committee Vice Chair – Stephanie Zee

Finance and Audit Committee Chair – Peter Hargitai

Finance and Audit Committee Vice Chair – Ruby Philip-Katyal

Governance Committee Chair - Stephanie Zee

Governance Committee Vice Chair – David Steinberg

Human Resources Committee Chair – Joby McKenzie

Human Resources Committee Vice Chair – Dev Chopra

Medical Advisory Committee Chair – Dr. Steven Jackson

Planning and Development Committee Chair – Joseph Amato

Planning and Development Committee Vice Chair – Dev Chopra

Quality, Safety & Risk Committee Chair - Azi Boloorchi

Quality, Safety & Risk Committee Vice Chair – Deryn Rizzi

CARRIED

5.1.3 Board Committee Membership Appointments

In order to maintain a quorum for the following resolution, conflicts of interest inherent in Directors voting for themselves either as Committee Chairs or Members, are duly noted.

MOVED by Ms. Deryn Rizzi and **SECONDED** by Mr. Dev Chopra:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors approve the 2023-2024 Board Committee Membership appointments, as presented.

CARRIED

5.1.4 Mackenzie Health Foundation Board Appointments

Ms. Fay Lim-Lambie recused herself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Ms. Deryn Rizzi and **SECONDED** by Ms. Joby McKenzie:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors approve the appointment of the Chair of the Board to serve as a Director on the Mackenzie Health Foundation Board of Directors for the 2023/2024 Board term.

CARRIED

Mr. Altaf Stationwala recused himself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Ms. Deryn Rizzi and SECONDED by Ms. Ruby Philip-Katyal:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors approve the appointment of the Mackenzie Health President and CEO to serve as a Director on the Mackenzie Health Foundation Board of Directors for the 2023/2024 Board term.

CARRIED

5.1.5 President's Community Advisory Council

Mr. David Steinberg recused himself from the meeting for this matter.

MOVED by Mr. Dev Chopra and **SECONDED** by Peter Hargitai:

BE IT RESOLVED That the Board of Directors approve the appointment of David Steinberg as an Observer on the President's Community Advisory Council for the 2023/24 Board term.

CARRIED

6.0 Adjournment

A special meeting may be required in August. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:45 a.m.